Skip to content

Camping vs. Touring, where do I fit in?

July 12, 2009

“Bike camping emphasizes the destination and what you do once you get there, and you just happen to get there on a bike.”

via Rivendell Bicycle Works: Camping vs. Touring.

This is a pretty great little article.  It isn’t very detailed, but I think it really sums up what I’m looking for right now, and what I think a lot of others are.

Of course, we’d all love to go on an extended 6 month bike tour of Alaska or ride the GDR.  Most of us can’t take 6 months off our jobs though, and I personally don’t want to have to go looking for a new job when I’m done with my tour (not to mention the 6 months of back child support I’d owe).

Weekend trips then are the ideal solution.  This article emphasizes “sub 24 hour” trips, but I’d prefer a weekender I think.  Taking a full weekend, you could combine the best aspects of touring and camping; making both the journey and the destination worth remembering.  The “S24O” may not be bad for your first couple of tries though.

Regardless, I think it’s best to just get out there and ride.  Period.

(oh, and going the weekender camping route would let me buy smaller – and hence cheaper – panniers)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

